In addition to REAG/GARP, you can receive additional financial assistance with StarthilfePlus. It depends on your nationality as well as residence status, if you can be supported with StarthilfePlus.

Your return counsellor can request StarthilfePlus together with the REAG/GARP assistance. On the basis of REAG/GARP, StarthilfePlus can offer the following financial assistance:Stage 1: You receive 1,200 EUR if you apply for an assisted voluntary return before the asylum procedure is completed.Stage 2: You receive 800 EUR if your asylum application has been rejected and you decide for a voluntary return within the period set for your departure.Stage S: You receive 800 EUR if you have a protection status according to German law and if you return to your country of origin with StarthilfePlus. As opposed to the other stages, stage S applies to all nationalities within the framework of REAG.Stage D – Only for people from Albania and Serbia (starting from 01.01.2018): If you have had a temporary permission to stay in Germany (“Langzeitduldung”) since two years or more and if you return to your country of origin with StarthilfePlus, you receive a one-time financial support of 500 EUR, as well as the following reintegration assistance in kind, based on your needs:
  • Housing-related costs up to 2,000 EUR for families and up to 1,000 EUR for single persons
  • Medical costs up to 3,000 EUR for families and up to 1,500 EUR for single persons
Please note: Persons who move on to a receiving third country, cannot receive Stage D support.Closed: Stage Ü (until 31.12.2017) as well as the additional reintegration assistance for housing (up to 3,000 EUR until 28.02.2018) have ended.Family assistance: A family can receive an additional 500 EUR if more than four family members together receive StarthilfePlus.StarthilfePlus is paid out in two stages. The first half will be paid out to you with the GARP payment at your departure and the second half within six to eight months by IOM after the arrival in your country of origin. Children below age 12 get half of the amount.RequirementsNationals of the following countries can apply for StarthilfePlus (list of GARP countries):Afghanistan, Egypt, Algeria, Armenia*, Azerbaijan*, Ethiopia, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Eritrea, Gambia, Georgia*, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Iraq, Iran, Cameroon, Kenya, Lebanon, Libya, Mali , Morocco, Mongolia, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Autonomous Territories, Russian Federation*, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Togo, Turkey*, Tunisia, Ukraine*, and Vietnam.

*Please note: Nationals from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Russian Federation, Turkey, and Ukraine must have been registered in their asylum procedures before 01.12.2017 as well as before the respective visa liberalisations (Georgia: 27.03.2017 / Ukraine: 10.06.2017).

Exception for stage S: If you are in need of protection according to German law, you can receive StarthilfePlus regardless of your nationality.To be able to leave the country, you have to sign that you withdraw your asylum application and waive legal means. For StarthilfePlus, the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) requires that you sign an additional declaration.