What is Assisted Voluntary Return and Reintegration – AVRR?

Migrants who no longer can or no longer wish to stay in Germany and who are unable to finance their return to their country of origin themselves, have the opportunity to receive organizational and financial support. This is known as ‘Assisted Voluntary Return and Reintegration´. It is supported by the federal and state funded REAG/GARP programme. Irregular and regular immigrants, rejected asylum seekers, refugees, displaced persons, and other individuals can also apply for AVRR. In general, the eligibility for AVRR depends on an applicant´s nationality, financial situation and legal status. If applicable, financial start-up assistance before departure, as well as reintegration support in the destination country through the StarthilfePlus programme can also be provided.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

What is the difference between voluntary return and forced return/deportation?

Voluntary Return is when a person decides voluntarily, to return to their country of origin or to migrate to a third country.
Forced Return (deportation) is when a person, after being notified that they are under a legal obligation to leave a host country, is forcedly conducted to his or her country of origin by the local legal authority. This might happen if one’s petition for asylum was rejected or if an asylum seeker was only entitled to temporary protection and was given a time limit for leaving the county.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Where can a migrant who is interested in assisted voluntary return get information on AVRR?

There are more than 900 return counselling centres in Germany that can assist with voluntary return and reintegration. Use the search tool on the website to find a return counselling center close to you and to get information about voluntary return. Search for a return counselling center by clicking on www.returningfromgermany.de/en/centres

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

What happens at a return counselling session?

At a return counselling session, migrants interested in voluntary return can discuss their personal situation to find out about the individual support options that are available to them. Return counsellors provide information about the financial and organizational support options for departure and possible reintegration. When a decision to return voluntarily is made, the application has to be completed on-site together with the return counsellor. Return counselling is individual, non-binding and unbiased. It does not oblige you to leave Germany and does not affect your asylum procedure.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Can programme services be used partially?

No, partial services cannot be granted under the REAG/GARP programme.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Is there a legal right to assisted voluntary return and reintegration services?

No, there is no legal entitlement to assistance.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

How much longer will the Corona additional payments exist?

Corona additional payments in the federal StarthilfePlus program will continue to be granted up to 31 December, 2021.

• The date 12/31/2021 refers to the date on which the returnee signs the REAG/GARP application. Corona additional payments cannot be granted for applications signed after 31 December, 2021.
• Applications signed by the deadline (i.e. by 31 December, 2021) must be received by IOM Germany by 15 January, 2022 at the latest in order to be considered.

Was ist eine unterstützte freiwillige Rückkehr und Reintegration (Assisted Voluntary Return and Reintegration - AVRR)?

Migrantinnen und Migranten - hierunter fallen auch Personen, deren Asylgesuch abgelehnt wurde - die nicht mehr in Deutschland bleiben können oder möchten und eine Rückkehr in ihr Herkunftsland nicht aus eigenen Mitteln finanzieren können, haben die Möglichkeit, organisatorische sowie finanzielle Unterstützung zu bekommen. Die freiwillige Rückkehr wird durch das von Bund und Ländern finanzierte REAG/GARP-Programm unterstützt. Je nach Staatsangehörigkeit, Zielland und Fall kann dies neben der Buchung und Finanzierung der Reisekosten auch eine Reisebeihilfe und gegebenenfalls eine finanzielle Starthilfe vor Ausreise, sowie eine Reintegrationsunterstützung im Zielland (StarthilfePlus-Programm) beinhalten.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen unterstützter Rückkehr und Rückführung (Abschiebung)?

Abschiebung bedeutet, dass eine ausreisepflichtige Person von der zuständigen Behörde in ihr Herkunftsland zurückgebracht wird, wenn sie nicht innerhalb einer Frist, die ihr vorher mitgeteilt worden ist, Deutschland von sich aus verlassen hat. Dies kann der Fall sein, wenn der Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde oder ein Asylbewerber nur Anspruch auf vorübergehenden Schutz hatte und diese Frist abgelaufen ist. Eine unterstützte freiwillige Rückkehr bedeutet, dass Personen die zurückkehren möchten, logistische und/oder finanzielle Hilfe sowohl bei ihrer Rückreise als auch bei ihrer Reintegration bekommen können.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Wo können an einer freiwilligen Rückkehr interessierte Migrantinnen und Migranten Informationen erhalten?

In Deutschland gibt es mehr als 900 Rückkehrberatungsstellen, die sowohl zu Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten einer freiwilligen Rückkehr als auch zu Reintegrationsprogrammen beraten. Auch das digitale Informationsportal ReturningfromGermany enthält alle wesentlichen Informationen in neun verschiedenen Sprachen. Ein Verzeichnis aller Rückkehrberatungsstellen ist hier verfügbar: www.returningfromgermany.de/en/centres

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Was passiert bei einer Rückkehrberatung?

Bei einer Rückkehrberatung können Migrantinnen und Migranten von ihrer persönlichen Situation berichten und sich danach zu den individuellen Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten unverbindlich informieren lassen. Rückkehrberatende teilen Informationen über finanzielle Fördermöglichkeiten bei der Ausreise und mögliche Reintegrationsleistungen im Zielland. Nach einer Entscheidung zur freiwilligen Rückkehr muss der Antrag gemeinsam mit den Rückkehrberatenden vor Ort ausgefüllt werden. Die Rückkehrberatung ist immer individuell, unverbindlich, unvoreingenommen und kostenlos. Sie verpflichtet nicht zu einer Ausreise.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Können Programmleistungen auch teilweise in Anspruch genommen werden?

Nein, eine Gewährung von Teilleistungen kann unter dem REAG/GARP-Programm nicht erfolgen.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Gibt es ein gesetzliches Recht auf unterstützte freiwillige Rückkehr und Reintegrationsleistungen?

Nein, es besteht kein Rechtsanspruch auf eine Unterstützung bei der freiwilligen Rückkehr.

icon/ic-play
icon/ic-volume

Wie lange gibt es die Corona-Zusatzzahlung noch?

Corona-Zusatzzahlungen im Bundesprogramm StarthilfePlus werden bis einschließlich 31. Dezember 2021 weiter gewährt.

• Das Datum 31.12.2021 bezieht sich auf das Datum der Unterschrift der Rückkehrenden auf dem REAG/GARP-Antrag. Für Anträge, die nach dem 31.12.2021 unterschrieben werden, können keine Corona-Zusatzzahlungen gewährt werden.
• Fristgerecht (d.h. bis einschl. 31.12.2021) unterschriebene Anträge müssen spätestens bis zum 15. Januar 2022 bei IOM Deutschland eingehen, um berücksichtigt werden zu können.