StarthilfePlus - Supplementary Reintegration Support in the Country of Origin

Since 2017, the REAG/GARP programme has been supplemented by the StarthilfePlus programme, which provides reintegration assistance to returnees in over 40 countries of origin.

Taking into account the effects of the ongoing global corona pandemic, the additional financial support granted since last year - in the form of an additional corona payment - will be extended until December 31, 2021 for the time being for all StarthilfePlus returnees.
There is still no legal entitlement to support.
Please note that the period may have to be adjusted. This will be communicated in time.

Options for support in the destination country

I. Reintegration component of Housing
Migrants of following countries, who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme and receive financial start-up assistance, can get additional reintegration assistance in housing: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Lebanon, Tajikistan, Turkey

II. Reintegration of long-term tolerated stay
Migrants returning to their country of origin through the REAG/GARP-Programme and having been tolerated to stay in Germany for at least two years may receive complementary reintegration assistance in housing and medical costs in the following target countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Moldova, Ukraine

III. Financial support in the destination country
(2nd financial start-up assistance after 6-8 months)
Migrants of following countries, who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme can receive start-up assistance: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Côte d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Iraq, Cameroon, Kenya, Mali, Mongolia, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

In the light of the ongoing worldwide restrictions due to the COVID-19-pandemic, delays may occur in the implementation of the StarthilfePlus reintegration support. Deadline extensions and flexible implementation measures are in place to allow for a provision of all granted assistances. For any questions or clarifications, please contact the IOM StarthilfePlus team under