StarthilfePlus - Supplementary Reintegration Support in the Country of Origin

Since 2017, the REAG/GARP programme has been supplemented by the StarthilfePlus programme, which provides reintegration assistance to returnees in over 40 countries of origin.

From November 2021, the federal StarthilfePlus programme will temporarily grant a special payment of EUR 1,500 per person.

Returnees can receive the special payment under the following conditions:
• The REAG/GARP application will be signed between 01 November and 31 December, 2021.
• The application, signed on time, will be sent to IOM by 15 January, 2022 at the latest.

• The special payment is granted per person (adults as well as children).
• The payment will take place at the earliest 6 and at the latest 10 months after your return.
• All previous subsidies remain.

Taking into account the effects of the ongoing global corona pandemic, the additional financial support granted since last year - in the form of an additional corona payment - will be extended until December 31, 2021 for the time being for all StarthilfePlus returnees.
There is still no legal entitlement to support.
Please note that the period may have to be adjusted. This will be communicated in time.

Options for support in the destination country

I. Reintegration component of Housing
Migrants of following countries, who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme and receive financial start-up assistance, can get additional reintegration assistance in housing: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Lebanon, Tajikistan, Turkey

II. Reintegration of long-term tolerated stay
Migrants returning to their country of origin through the REAG/GARP-Programme and having been tolerated to stay in Germany for at least two years may receive complementary reintegration assistance in housing and medical costs in the following target countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Moldova, Ukraine

III. Financial support in the destination country
(2nd financial start-up assistance after 6-8 months)
Migrants of following countries, who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme can receive start-up assistance: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Côte d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Iraq, Cameroon, Kenya, Mali, Mongolia, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

In the light of the ongoing worldwide restrictions due to the COVID-19-pandemic, delays may occur in the implementation of the StarthilfePlus reintegration support. Deadline extensions and flexible implementation measures are in place to allow for a provision of all granted assistances. For any questions or clarifications, please contact the IOM StarthilfePlus team under shpreintegration@iom.int

StarthilfePlus - Ergänzende Reintegrationsunterstützung im Herkunftsland

Seit 2017 wird das REAG/GARP Programm ergänzt durch das Programm StarthilfePlus, das Rückkehrenden in über 40 Zielländern eine Reintegrationsunterstützung gewährt.

Unter Berücksichtigung der Auswirkungen der weltweit anhaltenden Corona-Pandemie wird die seit letztem Jahr gewährte zusätzliche finanzielle Unterstützung - in Form einer Corona-Zusatzzahlung - bis zum 31.12.2021 für alle StarthilfePlus-Rückkehrenden verlängert.
Auf die Unterstützung besteht weiterhin kein Rechtsanspruch.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass gegebenenfalls eine Anpassung des Zeitraums vorgenommen werden muss. Hierüber wird rechtzeitig informiert.

Optionen der Ziellandunterstützung

I. Reintegrationsunterstützung im Bereich Wohnen
Freiwillig Rückkehrende, die mit dem REAG/GARP-Programm ausreisen und eine Starthilfe erhalten, können in folgenden Zielländern eine ergänzende Reintegrationsunterstützung im Bereich Wohnen erhalten: Afghanistan, Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Iran, Libanon, Tadschikistan, Türkei


II. Reintegrationsunterstützung für Langzeitgeduldete
Freiwillig Rückkehrende, die mit dem REAG/GARP-Programm in ihr Herkunftsland zurückkehren und nachweislich seit mindestens zwei Jahren in Deutschland geduldet sind, können in folgenden Zielländern eine ergänzende Reintegrationsunterstützung in den Bereichen Wohnen und medizinische Kosten erhalten: Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Georgien, Montenegro, Republik Nordmazedonien, Serbien, Republik Moldau, Ukraine


III. Finanzielle Unterstützung nach der freiwilligen Rückkehr (2. Starthilfe nach 6-8 Monaten)
Freiwillig Rückkehrende, die mit dem REAG/GARP-Programm ausreisen und eine Starthilfe bekommen, können in folgenden Ländern finanzielle Unterstützung erhalten: Afghanistan, Algerien, Ägypten, Äthiopien, Bangladesch, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Côte d'Ivoire, DR Kongo, Eritrea, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Indien, Irak, Kamerun, Kenia, Mali, Marokko, Mongolei, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russische Föderation, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Simbabwe, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Togo, Tunesien, Vietnam



Aufgrund der weiterhin andauernden, weltweiten Einschränkungen durch die COVID-19-Pandemie, kann es auch bei der StarthilfePlus-Reintegrationsunterstützung zu Verzögerungen kommen. Mit Fristverlängerungen und flexiblen Umsetzungsmaßnahmen wird dafür Sorge getragen, dass alle Unterstützungsleistungen gewährt werden können. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich gerne an die StarthilfePlus-Mitarbeitenden der IOM unter shpreintegration@iom.int