What is Voluntary Return?

Returning voluntarily is a possibility for migrants who are considering going back to their country of origin. For example, persons whose asylum application has been rejected in Germany, who have been granted a residence permit, or whose asylum procedure has not been concluded yet can return voluntarily. In 2016, more than 54,000 persons chose this option.

In individual counselling sessions you can talk about the possibilities of voluntary return, allowing you to make an informed decision. Return counselling does not oblige you to leave Germany. It does not affect your asylum procedure.
Support programmes can assist you with the organisation of the journey, cover your travel costs, or provide financial start-up assistance.
Layer 1When returning voluntarily, you can set the date of your departure yourself and by doing so plan and organise your return. You will travel independently and without an official escort by plane or by bus.
Layer 1If required, medical escort and care as well as arrival assistance can be organised.
Layer 1In some countries of origin reintegration programmes can help you with your new start.

Voluntary return: Returning with dignity

  • Unbiased and individual counselling
  • Informed decision
  • Migrant protection
  • Organisational and financial assistance for the departure
  • Sustainable reintegration support

Are you considering returning to your country of origin?

Return counselling and decision making: Contact a counselling centre and learn in individual conversations what possibilities of support are available for you.

There are independent and governmental return counselling centres.

There are independent counselling centres, for example welfare agencies organisations, NGOs or and other organisations, as well as governmental counselling centres, for example social welfare offices and immigration authorities. Find your nearest counselling centre here. Different languages are offered in each counselling centre. You can bring someone to the return counselling who is able to translate.

Return counselling is always voluntary and non-binding. It does not affect your ongoing asylum procedure.

Only after you commit to a voluntary return by e.g. applying for support through REAG/GARP, the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) requires you to to sign that you withdraw your asylum application and waive legal means.

If and what kind of financial support you can receive depends on various criteria, for example on your nationality and your asylum status.

Within the REAG/GARP programme, travel costs for your voluntary return are covered and you can receive a small travel assistance. Depending on your nationality, you can also receive a financial start-up assistance. . For people from the West Balkans only travel costs are covered with the REAG/GARP programme, no additional travel assistance or financial start-up assistance can be disbursed.

In addition to REAG/GARP, you can receive further financial assistance through StarthilfePlus. It depends on your nationality and your residence status whether or not you can get StarthilfePlus. If you have been registered in Germany before 1 February 2017 and if by 1 August 2017, you are either obligated to leave the country, you have a temporary permission to stay or you applied for asylum for the second time, you can also receive StarthilfePlus.

In some countries of origin there exist reintegration projects which can support your new start upon your return.

One example is the ERIN programme, which among other things can support you with education opportunities, finding an apartment or starting your own business. Find out what kind of reintegration assistance is available for you by entering your country of origin into the search bar.

Within the the ZIRF-Counselling project, your return counselling centre can ask for specific information at the IOM in your country of origin.

This project allows you to research e.g. what medication is available or what costs should be expected when starting your own business. For some countries useful information is summarised in Country Fact Sheets.

Application and Preparation: Your return counselling centre files your application and assists you with the required documents as well as concrete planning.

If you have decided for a voluntary return with REAG/GARP, your counselling centre completes the application forms for REAG/GARP with you, and in case you are eligible, also for StarthilfePlus.

The applications are sent to IOM where they are checked. Please note that there is no legal entitlement to voluntary return assistance. If you return voluntarily, you can come to Germany again. But you will not receive new support for another return. If you come back to Germany permanently, you have to pay back the received assistance.

The return counselling centre also assists you with applying for the required documents.

In order to return voluntarily, you need a valid passport or passport replacement papers as well as a border crossing certificate (“GÜB: Grenzübertrittsbescheinigung”) for your country of return. Some countries also allow to enter with an EU Laissez-Passer. The return counsellor helps you with applying for the necessary documents.

As soon as IOM sends the confirmation to your counselling centre, you can start your concrete planning.

IOM books the tickets for your return with you and the return counselling centre. If you need medical assistance, you can be accompanied when travelling to your country of origin. In some countries IOM can assist you with your onward journey or offer temporary accommodation. Please ask your return counselling centre for more information.

Find out if a reintegration programme is available for you. Apply for possible support with your counselling centre and prepare your reintegration plans.

Apply for ERIN support with your return counselling centre in case it is available for your country of origin. Within the framework of the ZIRF-Counselling project, your counselling centre can obtain useful information on the labour market, housing situation or medical care in order to facilitate your reintegration after return.

Departure: You travel by plane or bus.

Usually you will travel by plane.

At the final meeting before your departure, your counselling centre provides you with the flight confirmation and practical information regarding the journey.

Please take notice of the different luggage regulations which apply to the respective airlines.

The permitted number of luggage items or the weight limit can differ with respect to the airline and flight route.

In some cases a return journey by bus can be booked.

Under certain conditions return by car is also possible.

Layer 1
Layer 1

The new start in your country of origin: Make use of the possibilities.

Depending on where you are returning to, there might be arrival assistance available.

In some cases you can receive medical assistance, temporary accommodation or support with your onward journey.

If you partake in a reintegration programme, consult your respective contact person on site.

Start with your reintegration plan right away.

If you receive StarthilfePlus, you will obtain the second instalment six months after your return at IOM in your country of origin.

Please call the IOM office in your area to make an appointment. You can find the contact information on your StarthilfePlus documents.

close

Was ist Freiwillige Rückkehr?

Die freiwillige Ausreise ist eine Möglichkeit für Migrantinnen und Migranten, die überlegen, in ihr Herkunftsland zurückzukehren. Zum Beispiel können Menschen, deren Asylantrag in Deutschland abgelehnt wurde, denen der Aufenthalt gewährt wurde oder deren Asylverfahren noch nicht abgeschlossen ist, freiwillig zurückkehren. Im Jahr 2016 haben sich mehr als 54.000 Personen für diese Option entschieden.

In einer individuellen Rückkehrberatung können Sie die Möglichkeiten einer freiwilligen Rückkehr ergebnisoffen besprechen und so eine informierte Entscheidung treffen. Eine Beratung verpflichtet Sie nicht zu einer Ausreise. Auch Ihr Asylverfahren wird nicht beeinflusst.
Es gibt Unterstützungsprogramme, die Ihnen helfen, z. B. durch die Organisation der Reise, die Übernahme der Reisekosten und finanzielle Starthilfen.
Layer 1Bei einer freiwilligen Rückkehr können Sie den Termin für Ihre Ausreise selbst bestimmen und so Ihre Rückkehr planen und vorbereiten. Sie reisen selbstständig ohne behördliche Begleitung mit dem Flugzeug oder dem Bus aus.
Layer 1Bei Bedarf ist eine medizinische Begleitung und Versorgung und eine Ankunftsunterstützung möglich.
Layer 1In manchen Herkunftsländern gibt es Reintegrationsprogramme, die Ihnen bei Ihrem Neustart helfen können.

Freiwillige Rückkehr: In Würde zurückkehren

  • Ergebnisoffene und individuelle Beratung
  • Informierte Entscheidung
  • Schutz der Rückkehrenden
  • Organisatorische und finanzielle Unterstützung bei der Ausreise
  • Nachhaltige Reintegrationshilfen

Denken Sie darüber nach, in Ihr Herkunftsland zurückzukehren?

Rückkehrberatung und Entscheidung: Kontaktieren Sie eine Beratungsstelle und erfahren Sie in einem individuellen Gespräch, welche Möglichkeiten es gibt.

Es gibt unabhängige und staatliche Rückkehrberatungsstellen.

Es gibt unabhängige Beratungsstellen, zum Beispiel von Wohlfahrtsverbänden, NGOs oder anderen Organisationen, sowie staatliche Beratungsstellen, zum Beispiel in den Sozial– oder Ausländerbehörden. hier finden Sie die nächstgelegene Rückkehrberatungsstelle. Das Sprachangebot ist in jeder Beratungsstelle unterschiedlich. Sie können Personen zur Rückkehrberatung mitbringen, die für Sie übersetzen.

Eine Rückkehrberatung ist immer freiwillig und unverbindlich. Sie hat keinen Einfluss auf Ihr laufendes Asylverfahren.

Erst wenn Sie sich verbindlich für die freiwillige Rückkehr entscheiden und zum Beispiel eine Unterstützung mit REAG/GARP beantragen, verpflichtet Sie das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF), zu unterschreiben, dass Sie Ihren Asylantrag zurücknehmen und auf rechtliche Mittel verzichten.

Ob und welche finanzielle Unterstützung Sie erhalten können, hängt von mehreren Kriterien ab, zum Beispiel Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit und Ihrem Asylstatus.

Im REAG/GARP-Programm können die Reisekosten für Ihre freiwillige Rückkehr übernommen werden und Sie erhalten eine kleine Reisebeihilfe. Abhängig von Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit können Sie außerdem finanzielle Starthilfen bekommen. . Für Menschen aus dem Westbalkan sieht das REAG/GARP-Programm ausschließlich die Übernahme der Reisekosten vor, sie können keine Reisebeihilfe oder Starthilfen erhalten.

In Ergänzung zu REAG/GARP können Sie mit StarthilfePlus eine zusätzliche finanzielle Unterstützung erhalten. Es hängt von Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit und Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus ab, ob Sie StarthilfePlus bekommen können.Wenn Sie vor dem 1. Februar 2017 in Deutschland registriert wurden und vor dem 1. August 2017 vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig waren, eine Duldung haben oder einen zweiten Asylantrag gestellt haben, können Sie auch StarthilfePlus bekommen.

In manchen Herkunftsländern gibt es Reintegrationsprojekte, die Ihnen nach Ihrer Rückkehr bei einem Neustart vor Ort helfen können.

Dazu zählt zum Beispiel das ERIN-Programm, über das Sie unter anderem Unterstützung für eine Ausbildung, bei der Wohnungssuche oder bei einer Existenzgründung erhalten können. Finden Sie heraus, welche Reintegrationshilfen es für Sie gibt, indem Sie Ihr Herkunftslande in die Suchmaske eingeben.

Mit Hilfe des ZIRF-Counselling-Projekts kann Ihre Rückkehrberatungsstelle konkrete Informationen bei der IOM in Ihrem Herkunftsland erfragen.

So erfahren Sie beispielsweise, ob bestimmte Medikamente dort zur Verfügung stehen oder mit welchen Kosten bei einer Existenzgründung zu rechnen ist. Für manche Länder sind praktische Informationen in Länderinformationsblättern zusammengefasst.

Antrag und Vorbereitung: Ihre Rückkehrberatungsstelle stellt Ihren Antrag und hilft Ihnen mit den notwendigen Dokumenten und der konkreten Planung.

Wenn Sie sich für eine freiwillige Rückkehr mit REAG/GARP entschieden haben, füllt Ihre Rückkehrberatungsstelle mit Ihnen die Anträge für REAG/GARP und, falls Sie dafür in Frage kommen, für StarthilfePlus aus.

Die Anträge werden an die IOM geschickt und dort überprüft. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie keinen rechtlichen Anspruch auf Unterstützung haben. Wenn Sie freiwillig ausreisen, ist es möglich, wieder nach Deutschland zu kommen. Eine erneute Unterstützung Ihrer Rückreise gibt es dann nicht mehr. Falls Sie nach Ihrer freiwilligen Rückkehr dauerhaft nach Deutschland zurückkommen, müssen Sie die erhaltene Unterstützung zurückzahlen.

Die Rückkehrberatungsstelle unterstützt Sie auch bei der Beantragung der notwendigen Dokumente.

Um freiwillig ausreisen zu können, brauchen Sie einen gültigen Reisepass oder Passersatzpapier sowie eine Grenzübertrittsbescheinung (GÜB) für Ihr Rückkehrland. Einige Länder erlauben die Einreise auch mit dem EU-Laissez-Passer. Die Beratungsstelle hilft Ihnen bei der Beschaffung der Dokumente.

Sobald die IOM die Bestätigung an Ihre Beratungsstelle schickt, kann Ihre konkrete Planung beginnen.

In Absprache mit Ihrer Rückkehrberatungsstelle und Ihnen bucht die IOM Ihr Ticket für die Rückreise. Wenn Sie medizinische Unterstützung benötigen, können Sie gegebenenfalls bei der Reise in Ihr Herkunftsland begleitet werden. In manchen Ländern kann die IOM Sie zudem bei Ihrer Weiterreise oder mit einer temporären Unterkunft unterstützen. Bitte fragen Sie hierzu auch Ihre Rückkehrberatungsstelle.

Informieren Sie sich, ob Sie für ein Reintegrationsprogramm in Frage kommen. Beantragen Sie Hilfen mit Ihrer Rückkehrberatungsstelle und und bereiten Sie ihr Reintegrationsvorhaben vor.

Beantragen Sie mit Ihrer Rückkehrberatungsstelle ERIN-Unterstützung, sofern dies für Ihr Herkunftsland möglich ist. Über das ZIRF-Counselling-Projekt kann Ihre Beratungsstelle nützliche Informationen für Ihren Neustart einholen, zum Beispiel zum Arbeitsmarkt, zur Wohnungssituation oder zur medizinischen Versorgung.

Ausreise: Sie reisen mit einem Linienflug oder Fernbus aus.

Normalerweise reisen Sie per Flugzeug aus.

Vor der Ausreise gibt Ihnen Ihre Rückkehrberatungsstelle bei Ihrem Abschlussgespräch die Flugbestätigung und praktische Informationen für die Reise.

Bedenken Sie die Gepäckvorgaben, die für die jeweiligen Linienflüge gelten.

Die erlaubte Anzahl der Gepäckstücke oder die Gewichtsobergrenze kann je nach Fluglinie oder Flugstrecke unterschiedlich sein.

In einigen Fällen können Busausreisen gebucht werden.

Unter bestimmten Umständen sind auch Ausreisen mit dem PKW möglich.

Layer 1
Layer 1

Neustart in Ihrem Herkunftsland: Nutzen Sie die Möglichkeiten.

Je nachdem wohin Sie zurückkehren, gibt es eine Ankunftsunterstützung.

Sie können in einigen Fällen medizinische Unterstützung, eine temporäre Unterkunft und Hilfe bei der Weiterreise erhalten.

Wenn Sie an einem Reintegrationsprogramm teilnehmen, kontaktieren Sie Ihre Ansprechperson vor Ort.

Beginnen Sie möglichst zügig mit Ihrem Reintegrationsplan.

Wenn Sie StarthilfePlus bekommen, erhalten Sie die zweite Rate sechs Monate nach Ihrer Rückkehr bei der IOM in Ihrem Herkunftsland.

Rufen Sie für eine Terminvereinbarung die IOM vor Ort an. Die Kontaktdaten von IOM finden Sie auf Ihren StarthilfePlus-Dokumenten.

close